Solved

No gas reading since smart meter installation. No reply to Wattbot. No reply to email.

Userlevel 3

No gas reading on IHD since SM installation on 17th June. No reply from Wattbot request sent on 21st June despite it going to the team. No reply to email sent on 25th June.

Looks like I am on my own here :disappointed:

I am a retired engineer familiar with the Zigbee 2.4GHz technology used in the radio link and I suspect there is no signal path between the gas and electricity meter location.

When the engineer installed the system and showed me the IHD he said that the gas reading “can take a while to settle” which seemed unlikely to me at the time. Then I noticed there was no comms link between the gas and electricity meter. In other words the gas meter is not connected to the HAN. I took the IHD to where the gas meter is located on the outside of the house and it lost connection to the “meter network” i.e. the HAN served from the electricity meter location. So it could be that the signal is too weak at the gas meter.

I read online that it’s a known problem that 70% of installations fail due to this. 

I also read that the engineer should not go ahead with the gas meter installation until the connection is confirmed at the gas meter location.

It would be good if someone from PP could confirm that this is the problem with my installation.

icon

Best answer by Mads 8 July 2021, 12:30

Hi @Ewan 

Thanks for posting and keeping us updated! I’ve merged all of your responses into one place so you can keep track of the advice our wonderful Community members are giving!

I’ve flagged this with our Member Services team, there is a case for your IHD issue, this would’ve been created by WattBot, the team have escalated this so that it is looked into as soon as possible by our Operations team. 

I hope this helps!

View original

18 replies

Userlevel 3

Yes having similar problems with PP after issues with SM installation last month.