Solved

Switching and Direct Debit

• 5 August 2019
  • 3 replies

Hello,
After living in student accommodation for a year, I've decided to move into a flat for the first time. The house is currently under SSE for electricity and gas, but I've decided I want to switch to Pure Planet. Now, since it's my first time living in a flat and I have no idea of how much I consumed last year, to get my quote as realistic as possible I typed in my sister's yearly use (since she's had a very similar living arrangement). I've then gone through the rest of the steps but I stopped at the Summary, where it says "Your payments will be:...". This is where I'm confused, because I still don't know if the kwh usage I put it is what I'll actually use!
My question is, is the quote just an estimate or is it what they will actually charge me every month? Because if I end up using more or less that just doesn't make sense. Why are they saying "this is how much we'll charge" is no one knows how much I'll consume yet?

This is the only thing keeping me from switching, can someone please clarify this for me?? Thank you.
icon

Best answer by Jon1 5 August 2019, 19:14

Hi cami uche.
All you can do is make an educated guess as to what your usage will be. This will set your payment plan, but once you have been with PP 3 or 4 months you can review your payments and adjust them as required, its an easy thing to do.
If you post back with size of flat, how many rooms type of heating and hot water then members will give their opinion on an estimated usage.
View original

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +9
Hi cami uche.
All you can do is make an educated guess as to what your usage will be. This will set your payment plan, but once you have been with PP 3 or 4 months you can review your payments and adjust them as required, its an easy thing to do.
If you post back with size of flat, how many rooms type of heating and hot water then members will give their opinion on an estimated usage.